Reference Pamphlet pages 6-7 When to File

California Form 700 Reference Pamphlet (2018-2019) Fair Political Practices Commission
Email Advice: advice@fppc.ca.gov
FPPC Toll-Free Helpline: 1 (866) ASK-FPPC - (866) 275-3772 Reference Pamphlet 6 and 7

[WHEN TO FILE - Reference Pamphlet Page 6]

Assuming Office Statements

Filer: Elected officials. Deadline: 30 days after assuming office

Filer: Appointed positions specified in Government Code Section 87200 or Newly created board and commission members not covered by a conflict of interest code. Deadline: 30 days after assuming office or 10 days after appointment or nomination.

Filer: Other appointed positions (including those held by newly-hired employees) that are or will be designated in a conflict of interest code. Deadline: 30 days after assuming office (30 days after appointment or nomination if subject to Senate confirmation)

Filer: Positions newly added to a new or amended conflict of interest code. Deadline: 30 days after the effective date of the code or code amendment.

Exceptions:

  • Elected state officers who assume office in December or January are not required to file an assuming office statement, but will file the next annual statement due.
  • If you complete a term of office and, within 30 days, begin a new term of the same office (for example, you are reelected or reappointed), you are not required to file an assuming office statement. Instead, you will simply file the next annual statement due.
  • If you leave an office specified in Government Code Section 87200 and, within 45 days, you assume another office or position specified in Section 87200 that has the same jurisdiction (for example, a city planning commissioner elected as mayor), you are not required to file an assuming office statement. Instead, you will simply file the next annual statement due.
  • If you transfer from one designated position to another designated position within the same agency, contact your filing officer or the FPPC to determine your filing obligations.

Late statements are subject to a late fine of $10 per day per position up to $100 for each day the statement is late.

Annual Statements

  1. Elected state officers (including members of the state legislature, members elected to the Board of Administration of the California Public Employees' Retirement System and members elected to the Teachers' Retirement Board);

    Judges and court commissioners; and

    Members of state boards and commissions specified in Government Code Section 87200:

    File no later than Friday, March 1, 2019.

  2. County and city officials specified in Government Code Section 87200:

    File no later than Tuesday, April 2, 2019.

  3. Multi-County officials:

    File no later than Tuesday, April 2, 2019.

  4. State and local officials and employees designated in a conflict of interest code:

    File on the date prescribed in the code (April 1 for most filers).

Exception:

If you assumed office between October 1, 2018, and December 31, 2018, and filed an assuming office statement, you are not required to file an annual statement until March 2, 2020, or April 1, 2020, whichever is applicable. The annual statement will cover the day after you assumed office through December 31, 2019.

Incumbent officeholders who file candidate statements also must file annual statements by the specified deadlines.

Leaving Office Statements

Leaving office statements must be filed no later than 30 days after leaving the office or position. Exceptions:

  • If you complete a term of office and, within 30 days, begin a new term of the same office (for example, you are reelected or reappointed), you are not required to file a leaving office statement. Instead, you will simply file the next annual statement due.
  • If you leave an office specified in Government Code Section 87200 and, within 45 days, you assume another office or position specified in Section 87200 that has the same jurisdiction (for example, a city planning commissioner elected as mayor), you are not required to file a leaving office statement. Instead, you will simply file the next annual statement due.
  • If you transfer from one designated position to another designated position within the same agency, contact your filing officer or the FPPC to determine your filing obligations.

Candidate Statements

All candidates (including incumbents) for offices specified in Government Code Section 87200 must file statements no later than the final filing date for their declaration of candidacy.

Candidates seeking a position designated in a conflict of interest code must file no later than the final filing date for the declaration of candidacy or other nomination documents.

Exception:

A candidate statement is not required if you filed an assuming office or annual statement for the same jurisdiction within 60 days before filing a declaration of candidacy or other nomination documents.

Late Statements

Late statements should be submitted as soon as possible after the filing deadline, in the same manner and place as a timely filed statement.

The filing officer who retains originally-signed or electronically filed statements of economic interests may impose on an individual a fine for any statement that is filed late. The fine is $10 per day up to a maximum of $100. Late filing penalties may be reduced or waived under certain circumstances.

Persons who fail to timely file their Form 700 may be referred to the FPPC’s Enforcement Division (and, in some cases, to the Attorney General or District Attorney) for investigation and possible prosecution. In addition to the late filing penalties from the filing officer, a fine of up to $5,000 per violation may be imposed.

[End of Reference Pamphlet Pages 6-7 When to File]